Individual Tracks £0.75
Available formats: Source Audio (24 Bit Wav), mp3, Apple Lossless, FLAC, mp3HD, AAC
-:-- | -:--
  • Ulysses
Dark Sunrise (feat Tamara Blessa)
-:-- | -:--
  • Dark Sunrise (feat Tamara Blessa)
-:-- | -:--
  • Fumes
-:-- | -:--
  • Lightworker
Slowfast Matrix
-:-- | -:--
  • Slowfast Matrix
Ulysses (Reso's Different Drum Remix) (Digital Only)
-:-- | -:--
  • Ulysses (Reso's Different Drum Remix) (Digital Only)
Ulysses (Sweatson Klank Remix) (Digital Only)
-:-- | -:--
  • Ulysses (Sweatson Klank Remix) (Digital Only)

Om Unit


EP - CIV038

Release Date: 30.07.2012

Sold Out12" vinyl Sold Out

Includes download of digital bundle in format of your choice.

BUYDownload £3.99

Available formats: Source Audio (24 Bit Wav), mp3, Apple Lossless, FLAC, mp3HD, AAC

Om Unit returns with his third EP for Civil Music, ‘Aeolian’ and its perhaps his finest statement to date. Following on from EPs ‘Transport’ and ‘The Timps’ and his collaborations with Machinedrum as ‘Dream Continuum’, Om Unit continues to forge his own path at the nexus of instrumental beats and electronic music and further confirm his incredible versatility as a producer. Aeolian showcases five exceptional and emotive tracks that rouse the senses and together form a cinematic and journeying soundtrack. Focused predominantly, but not exclusively, around the 85/170BPM the unique qualities of ‘Aeolian’ are echoed with the choice of remixers; revered producers Reso and Sweatson Klank both contribute revisions to the package.

Aeolian is not named after the Aeolian musical mode but after the Aeolian processes, referring to the wind’s ability to shape the Earth and other planets. Om Unit says “in making this record, a lot of ideas flowed through these tracks that cumulatively have carved and sculpted the EP”.

The EP opens with ‘Ulysses’. Deep and melodic it combines elements of liquid, footwork and trap. Set against ultra sharp percussion and heavy rhythmic calculations the uplifting melody contrasts the melancholic atmosphere and epic synthscape. Reso’s remix strips down the original and focuses on jungle leaning and constantly evolving drum programming, whilst Sweatson Klank adds some soft sampling, creating a laidback swagger in the padded ambience and molding the melodic core with warm downtempo soul.

‘Dark Sunrise’ feature the elegant voice of Tamara Blessa, the sweetness and fragility of her vocals span the spacious filtering layers of bass and the reverberating drums. Delicate rhythms and a clean and effective structure maximise the emotive nature of this track as it broadcasts a message for change. ‘Fumes’, serves almost as a midway point in the EP, it’s slow half time bump, warm bass and head-nodding throbs lend reflective feel to the minimal stepping beat. ‘Lightworker’s Call’ features Cosmic Bridge collaborator Kromestar and is heavily hip-hop influenced, its drums and siren-like synths have a 90′s west coast feel and roll through futuristic landscapes before hitting a wall of square wave bass. Driven by the snapping snare and low end bass weight, the Kromestar input is clear to see. Similar to ‘Ulysses,’ ‘Slowfast Matrix’ balances stormy synths and layered rhythms over skittering percussion, with the final product being somewhere between juke, jungle and liquid. The second drop, however, deletes the sped-up drums and favours a half-time alternative providing an epic closing outro to the EP.

Om Unit is one of the most exciting artists to emerge in recent times, and packed with unique combinations of style, and diverse demonstrations of its makers adaptability, Aeolian shows us why. Just as the ‘Aeolian processes’ shape the surface of the Earth, Om Unit is helping to shape music’s electronic landscape.

After an already frantic year with releases on Planet Mu, All City, and continuing his work with his Cosmic Bridge imprint, ahead lies tracks for Metalheadz, more collaborations, an extensive worldwide tour schedule (including August’s US/CA tour which is book-ended by appearances at L.A’s Low End Theory and NYC’s Muesum of Modern Art), and his debut album scheduled for mid 2013 with Civil Music.

Om Unit plays at Fabric as part of the Civil Music room on 27th July 2012 before commencing an extensive US tour. Aeolian features artwork from Dj/producer/artist Kutmah and is released 30th July 2012 on Civil Music.

Other releases by Om Unit

Threads LP

Om Unit - Transport EP Sleeve


Om Unit - The Timps Sleeve

The Timps