Posts By: Civil Music

Dylan Stark – Northern (Live)

Premiered by The Fader.

Dylan Stark’s Live Take Of “Northern” Is Entrancing Dance Music. Nocturnal rave vibes and sonic ecstasy. It’s dance music that is melancholic and reflective, while still producing the same feelings of awe and wonder that fans of the genre are always in pursuit of.

Reso – Ricochet LP

Reso announces new LP “Ricochet” for Hospital Records. Pre-order here (inc 2×12″ White vinyl version). Drum education.

Introducing Dylan Stark – Heartland LP

Dylan Stark - Heartland LP

We are very excited. Introducing Dylan Stark. 2015’s most deserving anti-hero. His quiet rebellion starts today…..

Tropical, celebratory and alive, Heartland sounds a like Parade and a Jungle. It has the can’t quite put your finger on it, coming of age pureness of Grimes; and the raw emotion of a Burial record (but in a joyous way).

Heartland is an album about the evocative power of music, created over four years from thousands of samples that are brought to life by 24 year old Portland, Oregon resident Dylan Stark.

Get more info and pre-order the limited edition 2×12″ and CD here.

Brassica – Against the Clock for FACT TV

Against the Clock is a series on FACT TV where artists are given 10 minutes in the studio to see what they can come up with, Brassica experiments with a handful of gear that includes his workhorse, a discontinued Nord modular synth.

Brassica’s debut album, “Man is Deaf” is released 10th Nov 2014 on Civil. Order it here

Welcome to the new home of Civil Music

Welcome to the new home of Civil Music.

We’ve given the site a full redesign. The design process started a year ago. During that time, Civil Music has been completely rebuilt from the ground up. The changes are total. Our aim is to improve the experience for everyone who interacts with Civil.

We’re sure you’ll discover many changes as you use the site, but here are some of the key changes we’d like you to know about:

Civil works on mobiles and is made with multi-device usage in mind, the new site design is responsive. Clarity across mobile, tablet, laptop and desktop setups is important to us.

We’ve got a new logo. The old one hasn’t been ditched though, its always going to be part of our make up.

You can stream all of our releases in full on the site, helping users to engage with our artists and explore our catalogue.

Our new store functionality allows you to buy our releases faster and easier than ever. As always all our Vinyl releases come with a digital version in the format of your choice. And if you’re buying from your local record store (good on you, thanks for supporting them, and us) you don’t lose out either, all vinyl comes with a download code you can redeem here at the site.

Some of the new functions include our artist events listings, a comprehensive mixes archive, integration with our YouTube channel and updates to our free download series.

We encourage feedback on the new site. If you spot something is not working as we had intended then please let us know by emailing If you have spotted a factual inaccuracy, a grammatical error, spelling mistake, or just think we need to update something then please let know and we’ll make the appropriate changes. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. You can probably expect a reward for your assistance.

The new Civil site will help us showcase our upcoming releases and projects as never before, so expect to see many exciting updates in the coming weeks, months and years.

Thanks to Mark, Max, Yip and Bowbowbow for creating this website. And thanks to everyone who has supported the label and artists so far.


Mix: Reso for Inverted Audio

IA MIX 89 Reso by Inverted Audio on Mixcloud

1. Nebula ‘Warm Currents’
2. Acid Lab ‘Black Rain’
3. D Bridge ‘Cornered’
4. Paradox ‘Dirty Cash’
5. Naibu ‘Write The Future’
6. Fanu ‘Nuku’
7. Equinox ‘Breakestra Ting’
8. Fracture ‘The Breaks’
9. Code 3 & Ulterior Motive ‘Yeti’
10. Menace ‘The Crooked’
11. D Minds ‘Subcrate’
12. Xtrah ‘Regain Control’
13. L33 ‘Overlap’
14. Macc & Duffah ‘Messiah 51 (Equinox Rmx)’
15. Acid Lab ‘Ghostdrums’
16. Elemental ‘Flow’
17. Impact ‘Everything I Left Behind’
18. Paradox ‘Sample Me 2’

via Inverted Audio.